Short Biography

Short Biography

Johannes Wildner studied conducting, violin and musicology and has established himself as one of the foremost Austrian conductors.

His years of experience as a member of the Vienna Philharmonic and the Vienna State Opera Orchestra have given his conducting a distinctive stamp.

After positions as Chief Conductor of Prague State Opera and First Permanent Conductor of Leipzig Opera, Johannes Wildner was the General Music Director of the New Philharmonic Orchestra of Westphalia (Germany) for ten years from 1997. He served as Principal Guest Conductor of the BBC Concert Orchestra in London from 2010-2014. From 2014 he has also been the Director of the Austrian Opera Festival OPER BURG GARS and was appointed Professor of Conducting at the Vienna University of Music that same year. From 2019/2020, Johannes Wildner has also been the Chief Conductor of Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra in Sønderborg (DK).

He has regularly appeared as a guest conductor in major opera houses such as the Tokyo New National Theatre, the Teatro Carlo Felice Genova, the Arena di Verona, Leipzig, Graz, Salzburg, Prague and Zagreb State Opera, and with orchestras such as the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the London Philharmonic and the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, the Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana in Palermo, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic, the Tokyo Philharmonic, the MDR Symphony, the Dresden Philharmonic, the Vienna Symphony, the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Bergen Philharmonic, the China Philharmonic, the Hong Kong Philharmonic and the Shanghai Symphony Orchestra.

Johannes Wildner has recorded over 100 CDs, DVDs and videos, including the integral versions of Johann Strauss’ Die Fledermaus and Mozart’s Cosí fan tutte, recordings of Carmen and Nozze di Figaro, Bruckner’s Third and Ninth Symphonies, and three CDs of previously unknown repertoire by Zeisl, Marx and David, Robert Schumann’s complete works for piano and orchestra, with pianist Lev Vinocour and the RSO Vienna, Beethoven violin concerto (soloist: Alexandre Da Costa) and Beethoven’s 7th Symphony with Taipei Symphony Orchestra, as well as works by forgotten composers like D’Erlanger and Braunfels with the BBC Concert Orchestra.

Photo: Lukas Beck
Long Biography

Long Biography

The Austrian conductor Johannes Wildner has been Chief Conductor of the Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra in Sønderborg (DK) since 2019/20. Since 2014 he also is a University Professor for Conducting at the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, as well as the artistic director of the Austrian opera festival Oper Burg Gars. In the years before, the musicologist, who holds a doctorate in musicology, was Principal Guest Conductor of the BBC Concert Orchestra in London (2010-2014), General Music Director of the New Philharmonic Orchestra of Westphalia, which is also the opera orchestra of the Musiktheater im Revier (1997-2007), First Permanent Conductor of the Leipzig Opera (1996-98), as well as Chief Conductor of the Prague State Opera (1994-95) and the State Philharmonic Orchestra Košice (Slovakia, 1990-93).

His years of experience as a member of the Vienna Philharmonic and the Vienna State Opera Orchestra have given his conducting a distinctive stamp.

After the very successful productions of “Don Carlo”, “Otello”, “Magic Flute”, “Tosca”, “Fidelio” and “The Abduction from the Seraglio” , in the festival Oper Burg Gars, Wildner will conduct Bizet’s “Carmen” in 2022, which needed to be postponed from 2020 due to corona.

As part of his regular collaboration with the Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra, the Austrian will perform at the Vienna Musikverein in October 2021. The annual Asia tour of the Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra planned for the turn of the year 20-21 fell victim to the corona pandemic and also the 2021-22 tour needed to be postponed by one year.

In recent years, Johannes Wildner was responsible for a new production of Mozart’s “Idomeneo” at the Lithuanian National Theater Vilnius directed by Graham Vick, a new production of “La Cavalleria Rusticana/I Pagliacci” at the Bucharest State Opera, and “The Magic Flute” in St. Petersburg.

As a guest conductor, he regularly appears on the podium of major orchestras such as the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, the St. Petersburg Philharmonic Orchestra. the Russian State Symphony Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the MDR Symphony Orchestra, the Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz in Ludwigshafen, the Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester and the Staatsphilharmonie Saarbruecken, the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra, the Beethoven Orchestra Bonn, the Vienna Symphony Orchestra, the ORF-RSO Vienna, the Tonkunstler Orchestra, the Bruckner Orchestra Linz, the Mozarteum Orchestra Salzburg, the Orchestra of the Arena di Verona, the Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana in Palermo the Haydn Orchestra Bolzano-Trento, the Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra, the Bulgarian Philharmonic Sofia, the Danish National Symphony Orchestra Copenhagen, the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, the Gelders Orkest in Arnhem, the Aarhus Symphony, the National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, the Orchestre de Bretagne, the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, the Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Mexico, the Taiwan Philharmonic Orchestra, the China Philharmonic, the Shanghai Symphony, the Hong Kong Philharmonic and the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra

As a sought-after opera and operetta conductor, Johannes Wildner has appeared at the Prague State Opera, the Leipzig Opera (TV recordings of Mozart’s “Marriage of Figaro” and “Così fan tutte”) and the Music Theater im Revier/Gelsenkirchen, as well as at the podium of the Volksoper Wien, the Vienna State Opera, the Seefestspiele Mörbisch, the Metropol-Theater Berlin, the Wagner-Festival in Wels, the Vienna Summer Festival “Mozart in Schönbrunn”, the Carinthian Summer, the Opernfestspiele St. Margarethen; the NCPA in Mumbai, the “Festival de Mayo” in Guadalajara/Mexico, the Opera Halle, the Graz Opera House, the Salzburg and Linz Landestheater, the Bratislava National Opera, the Brno National Theatre, the Croatian National Theatre Zagre, the Arena di Verona, the New National Theatre Tokyo, the Teatro Carlo Felice in Genova, and in Taiwan.

Johannes Wildner recorded more than a 100 CDs, DVDs and videos, including the complete recordings of “Die Fledermaus”, “Così fan tutte” for Naxos and a live recording of Bizet’s “Carmen”, Bruckner’s 3rd (in all versions) and 9th Symphony (with reconstructed 4th movement). He recorded four CDs with music by Erich Zeisl, Joseph Marx and Johann Nepomuk David with the ORF-RSO Vienna for cpo; in 2010, on the occasion of the composer’s 200th birthday, the complete works for piano and orchestra by Robert Schumann with the pianist Lev Vinocour and the ORF-RSO Vienna were released on three CDs by Sony RCA Red Seal. In 2013, Warner Classics published Beethoven’s Violin Concerto (soloist: Alexandre Da Costa) and Beethoven’s 7th Symphony with the Taipei Symphony Orchestra. With the BBC Concert Orchestra Johannes Wildner records works by unknown or forgotten composers for Dutton Records. Works by Frédéric d’Erlanger and Walter Braunfels have already appeared in this series.

Johannes Wildner studied conducting (with Karl Österreicher, Otmar Suitner and Vladimir Delman), violin and musicology in Vienna and Parma.

Photo: Lukas Beck
Menu

Biografie kurz

Biografie kurz

Johannes Wildner studierte Dirigieren, Violine und Musikwissenschaft in Wien und in Italien und ist heute einer der führenden österreichischen Dirigenten seiner Generation. Seine Zeit als Mitglied der Wiener Philharmoniker und des Orchesters der Wiener Staatsoper prägte seinen Dirigierstil und sein Musizieren nachhaltig.

Nach Positionen als Chefdirigent der Prager Staatsoper und als Erster Ständiger Dirigent der Oper Leipzig war Johannes Wildner von 1997-2007 Generalmusikdirektor der Neuen Philharmonie Westfalen (Recklinghausen, Deutschland), das auch das Opernorchester des Theaters in Gelsenkirchen ist. Von 2010-2014 war Johannes Wildner Erster Gastdirigent des BBC Concert Orchestra in London. Seit 2014 ist er Intendant des Opernfestivals Oper Burg Gars und Universitätsprofessor für Dirigieren an der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Wien. Seit 2019/2020 ist Johannes Wildner auch Chefdirigent des Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra in Sønderborg (DK).

Er steht regelmäßig am Pult großer Opernhäuser, wie des New National Theatre Tokyo, des Teatro Carlo Felice in Genua, der Arena di Verona, der Oper Leipzig, der Oper Graz, des Salzburger Landestheaters sowie der Staatsopern Prag und Zagreb. Er dirigiert bedeutende Orchester wie das London Philharmonic und das Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, die St. Petersburger Philharmoniker, das Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, die Dresdner Philharmoniker, das Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana (Palermo), das Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, die Wiener Symphoniker, das Tokyo Philharmonic, das China und das Hongkong Philharmonic oder das Shanghai Symphony Orchestra.

Johannes Wildner hat mehr als 100 CDs, DVDs und Videos aufgenommen, darunter die Gesamtaufnahmen der “Fledermaus”, live-Mitschnitte von “Carmen”, “Nozze di Figaro” und “Così fan tutte”, sowie die 3. und 9. Symphonie von Anton Bruckner, das Gesamtwerk für Klavier und Orchester von Robert Schumann mit dem Pianisten Lev Vinocour, Beethovens Violinkonzert (Solist: Alexandre Da Costa) und 7. Symphonie mit dem Taipei Symphony Orchestra, ebenso wie Werke von vergessenen Komponisten wie d’Erlanger und Braunfels mit dem BBC Concert Orchestra.

Foto: Lukas Beck
Biografie lang

Biografie lang

Der österreichische Dirigent Johannes Wildner ist seit 2019/20 Chefdirigent des Sønderjyllands Symphony Orchestra in Sønderborg (DK). Seit 2014 ist er auch Intendant des österreichischen Opernfestivals Oper Burg Gars und Universitätsprofessor für Dirigieren an der Universität für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Wien. In den Jahren davor war der promovierte Musikwissenschafter bereits Erster Gastdirigent des BBC Concert Orchestra in London (2010-2014), Generalmusikdirektor der Neuen Philharmonie Westfalen, die auch das Opernorchester des Musiktheaters im Revier ist (1997-2007), Erster Ständiger Dirigent der Oper Leipzig (1996-98), sowie Chefdirigent der Prager Staatsoper (1994-95) und der Staatsphilharmonie Košice (Slowakei, 1990-93). Seine Zeit als Mitglied der Wiener Philharmoniker und des Orchesters der Wiener Staatsoper prägte seinen Dirigierstil und sein Musizieren nachhaltig.

In dem von ihm geleiteten Festival Oper Burg Gars dirigiert Wildner nach den sehr erfolgreichen Produktionen von „Don Carlo“, „Otello“, „Zauberflöte“, „Tosca“ und „Fidelio“, 2021 nach corona-bedingter Verschiebung Bizets „Carmen“.

Im Rahmen seiner regelmäßigen Zusammenarbeit mit dem Wiener Johann Strauss Orchester ist der Österreicher u.a. im Oktober 2020 im Wiener Musikverein zu erleben. Die für den Jahreswechsel 20-21 geplante alljährliche Asien-Tournee des Wiener Johann Strauss Orchesters fiel der Corona-Pandemie zum Opfer und musste um ein Jahr verschoben werden.

In jüngerer Zeit zeichnete Johannes Wildner für eine Neuproduktion von Mozarts „Idomeneo“ am Litauischen Nationaltheater Vilnius in der Regie von Graham Vick, eine Neuproduktion von „La Cavalleria Rusticana/I Pagliacci“ an der Staatsoper Bukarest, sowie „Die Zauberflöte“ in St. Petersburg verantwortlich.

Als Gastdirigent steht er regelmäßig am Pult großer Orchester wie des Royal Philharmonic Orchestra London, der St. Petersburger Philharmoniker, des Russischen Staats-Symphonie-Orchesters, des Sinfonieorchesters des Bayerischen Rundfunks, des MDR-Sinfonie-Orchesters, der Staatsphilharmonie Rheinland-Pfalz in Ludwigshafen, des Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchesters und der Staatsphilharmonie Saarbrücken, der Dresdner Philharmoniker, des Beethoven Orchesters Bonn, der Wiener Symphoniker, des ORF-RSO Wien, des Tonkünstler-Orchesters Niederösterreich, des Bruckner Orchesters Linz, des Mozarteum-Orchesters Salzburg, des Orchesters der Arena di Verona, des Orchestra Sinfonica Siciliana in Palermo, des Haydn-Orchesters Bozen-Trient, des Zagreb Philharmonic Orchestra, der Bulgarischen Philharmonie Sofia, des Danish National Symphony Orchestra Kopenhagen, des Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra, des Gelders Orkest in Arnheim, des Aarhus Symphony, des National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland, des Orchestre de Bretagne, des New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, des Orquesta Sinfónica Nacional de Mexico, des Taiwan Philharmonic Orchestra, des China Philharmonic, des Shanghai Symphony, des Hongkong Philharmonic und des Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra.

Als gefragter Opern- und Operettendirigent leitete Johannes Wildner neben seinen Engagements an der Staatsoper Prag, der Oper Leipzig (TV-Aufzeichnungen von Mozarts „Hochzeit des Figaro“ und „Così fan tutte“) und dem Musiktheater im Revier/Gelsenkirchen, unter anderem auch Vorstellungen der Volksoper Wien, der Seefestspiele Mörbisch, des Metropol-Theaters Berlin, der Wagner-Festspiele in Wels, des Wiener Sommerfestivals „Mozart in Schönbrunn“, des Carinthischen Sommers, der Opernfestspiele St. Margarethen; des NCPA in Mumbai, des „Festival de Mayo“ in Guadalajara/Mexico, der Oper Halle, des Opernhauses Graz, des Salzburger und des Linzer  Landestheaters, der Nationaloper Bratislava, des Brünner Nationaltheaters, des Kroatischen Nationaltheaters Zagreb, der Arena di Verona, des New National Theaters Tokyo, des Teatro Carlo Felice in Genua,  sowie in Taiwan.

Johannes Wildner nahm über 100 CDs, DVDs und Videos auf, darunter die Gesamtaufnahmen von „Die Fledermaus“, „Così fan tutte“ für Naxos und ein Live-Mitschnitt von Bizets „Carmen“, Bruckners 3. (in allen Fassungen) und 9. Sinfonie (mit rekonstruiertem 4. Satz). Vier CDs mit Musik von Erich Zeisl, Joseph Marx und Johann Nepomuk David nahm er mit dem ORF-RSO Wien für cpo auf; 2010, anlässlich des 200. Geburtstages des Komponisten, erschien das Gesamtwerk für Klavier und Orchester von Robert Schumann mit dem Pianisten Lev Vinocour und dem ORF-RSO Wien auf drei CDs bei Sony RCA Red Seal. 2013 veröffentlichte Warner Classics Beethovens Violinkonzert (Solist: Alexandre Da Costa) und Beethovens 7. Symphonie mit dem Taipei Symphony Orchestra. Mit dem BBC Concert Orchestra nimmt Johannes Wildner Werke unbekannter oder vergessener Komponisten für Dutton Records auf. In dieser Serie bereits erschienen sind Werke von Frédéric d’Erlanger und Walter Braunfels.

Johannes Wildner studierte in Wien und Parma Dirigieren (bei Karl Österreicher, Otmar Suitner und Vladimir Delman), Violine und Musikwissenschaft.

Foto: Lukas Beck
Menü