Johannes Wildner in Sønderborg

Johannes Wildner’s great strength has always been his versatility — he has never allowed himself to be pigeonholed. In the first of two concerts with his South Danish Symphony Orchestra, he is placing a strong accent on the Nordic program featuring works by Grieg, Nielsen, Berwalt, and Sibelius. For the second, he juxtaposes works by Mozart and Honegger: the Gran Partita for winds and the…

Johannes Wildner with Amy Beach in Sønderborg and with the Hofer Symphoniker

On International Women’s Day, March 8th, Johannes Wildner will conduct Amy Beach’s “Gaelic Symphony,” the first symphony written by a woman in America, with the Southern Denmark Philharmonic; the second part of the program will feature Isabell Keulen as the soloist in Beethoven’s Violin Concerto. In what must by now count as an annual tradition, he returns to the Hofer Symphoniker for a diverse…

Johannes Wildner in Sønderborg

Chief conductor Johannes Wildner once again stands on the rostrum of his South Danish Philharmonic, the Sønderjyllands Symfoniorkester. This time, with a “musical postcard from Vienna” — featuring works by Schubert, Mozart, and Beethoven, all created in a time of upheaval, after the French Revolution, when concerts were finally open to a larger, non-aristocratic audience. Alsion, Sønderborg South Danish Philharmonic — Sønderjyllands Symfoniorkester Franz Schubert: Overture in…

The Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra under Johannes Wildner at the Elbphilharmonie

After an almost three-week tour in Asia, where the Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra performed fifteen concerts in China, Japan, and Korea, the musicians are now returning to the Elbphilharmonie in Hamburg to follow up on their success in 2023. Under the musical direction of Johannes Wildner, works by the Strauss dynasty, Franz Lehár, and Christian Lumbye are on the program. Once again, the concert has…

Johannes Wildner on tour to Asia with the Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra

The Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra under Austrian conductor Johannes Wildner is embarking on a tour of Asia again — for the 8th time to China, the 39th time to Japan, and the very first time to South Korea! Since 1966, the Vienna Johann Strauss Orchestra has been delighting its audience with Viennese music, played by an original lineup of forty-two musicians at the highest levels in…


(for more  performance dates, please see Calendar)

South Denmark Philharmonic – Sønderjylland Symfoniorkester
Edvard Grieg: Lyric Pieces, Book 9, Op. 68, no. 4 & 5
Carl Nielsen: Clarinet concerto, Op. 57
Franz Berwald: Overture to Estrella de Soria
Jean Sibelius: Symphony no 7, op. 105, c-major
Nicolai Eghorst, Soloist
5 April 2024 Musik- og Teaterhuset, Abenraa,

South Denmark Philharmonic – Sønderjylland Symfoniorkester
Wolfgang Amadé Mozart: Serenade Nr. 10 KV 361 „Gran Partita“
Arthur Honegger: Symphonie Nr. 2 H153
11 April 2024, Skt. Marie Kirke, Sønderborg
12 April 2024, Brødremenighedens Kirke, Christiansfeld

South Denmark Philharmonic – Sønderjylland Symfoniorkester
H. K. Gruber: violin concerto no. 2 („Nebelsteinmusik“)
J. M. Staud: violinconcerto “Oskar“ (Towards a Brighter Hue II)
F. Schubert: Symphony no. 8 c-major D 944 «The Great»
Soloist: Ernst Kovacic
16 May 2024, Ribe Domkirke
17 May 2024, Musik- og Teaterhuset, Aabenraa

Festival Cultural de Mayo en Jalisco
Orquesta Filarmónica de Jalisco
L.v.Beethoven: Violin concerto d-major op. 61
L.v.Beethoven: Symphony no. 7 A-Dur op. 92
Solistin: Geneva Lewis
24 May 2024, Teatro Degollado, Guadalajara (Mexico)

South Denmark Philharmonic – Sønderjylland Symfoniorkester
St. Hans Concert
Z. Kodály: Variations on a Hungarian Folksong („The Peacock“)
J. Strauss: Overture to „The Bat“
F. Lehár: Dein ist mein ganzes Herz (from „The Land of Smiles“)
F. Lehár: Ballett waltz (from „The Count of Luxemburg“)
E. Reesen: Livets Glæder (aus „Farinelli“)
H.C. Lumbye: Salut for August Bournonville
23 June 2024, Alsion, Sonderborg

Tonkünstler-Orchester Niederösterreich
Works by F.v. Suppè, Johann andJosef Strauss, F. Lehár, C.M. Ziehrer, J. Offenbach and R. Stolz
Julia Kleiter, soprano
Benjamin Bruns, tenor
13 July 2024, Wolkenturm Grafenegg